The 2024 Resilient Australia Awards are open for submissions. The awards are celebrating 25 years of highlighting initiatives that build resilience and inspire others to act – making communities safer, more connected and better prepared for disasters and emergencies. Submissions will be accepted in each state and territory for business, community, government, local government, schools, mental health and wellbeing, and photography award categories.

The winners from each jurisdiction will be considered for two national awards, the Resilient Australia National Award, and a new award category, the Resilient Australia National Collaboration and Partnership Award.

This year, the Resilient Australia Awards is also introducing the Research for Impact Award. The new award category is open to tertiary institutions, and recognises research that is having or will have a significant impact on knowledge, capability and practice and will enhance disaster resilience outcomes as a result.

The awards are open to all Australians, including but not limited to individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, all levels of government, schools, education institutions, research bodies, and emergency service agencies.

The Resilient Australia Awards are managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience, and proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in conjunction with the states and territories.

Submissions can be made in written or video format and will be accepted until 11.59pm AEST on 31 May 2024. For more information and to submit, visit


31 May 2024 Submissions close
7 June 2024 – 21 June 2024 People’s Choice voting: Resilient Australia Photography Awards
7 June 2024 – 12 July 2024 State and territory judging period
26 July – 6 August 2024 National judging period
12 July – 30 September 2024 State and territory award ceremonies
26-28 November 2024 National Resilient Australia Awards Ceremony

Submissions for the 2024 awards program must relate to projects or initiatives that commenced after 1 January 2022 or demonstrate significant outcomes or enhancements since 1 January 2022. 

For more information about the Resilient Australia Awards program, please contact Cherie Harris at

Key links

Resilient Australia Awards webpage

Submission portal

Resilient Australia Awards 2024 Guidelines

Resilient Australia Awards 2024 Submission Tips 

Resilient Australia Awards FAQS