The 2021 Resilient Australia Awards are open for submissions. The awards are celebrating 22 years of highlighting initiatives that build resilience and inspire others to act – making communities safer, more connected and better prepared for disasters and emergencies.

Submissions will be accepted in each state and territory for business, community, government, local government, schools and photography award categories. The winners from each jurisdiction will be considered for national awards.

In 2021, the National Mental Health and Wellbeing Award has been added to the program. This new award category celebrates initiatives that promote and enhance the wellbeing of communities before, during and after disaster.

The awards are open to all Australians, including but not limited to individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, all levels of government, schools, education institutions, research bodies, and emergency service agencies.

The Resilient Australia Awards are managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience, and proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in conjunction with the states and territories.

Submissions will be accepted until 11.59pm AEST on 3 June 2021 via the online platform For details and guidelines, visit