Resize Text RSS Feed Icon High Contrast Icon Print button

The SES training system allows a volunteer to attain the skills required to competently carry out tasks associated with the roles and responsibilities of the Unit. The SES training system involves three stages:

  • General Response Training (Core and Basic Operations)
  • Operations Training
  • Specialist Training

As a Registered Training Organisation (RTO), the SES delivers nationally recognised training and issues nationally recognised qualifications, skills sets and statements of attainment. Most SES training is aligned to national competency standards and the Public Service Training Package.

Qualifications and RPL

Completion of General Response and other accredited units within the SES training system may lead to the completion of a Certificate II in Public Safety (SES).

Completion of Operations and Specialist training may lead to the completion of a Certificate III in Public Safety (SES Rescue).

If you have previously engaged in training or have obtained skills in a relevant area, you may be eligible for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) or a Credit Transfer (CT). Those interested in applying for RPL or CT can discuss this with the Unit trainer during probation.